top of page

OUR EDUCATIONAL
ACTIONS

CULTURAL ACTIONS
for colleges and high schools

Through educational interventions and workshops led by specialists in their field, we invite students to dive into the heart of the Middle Ages, its music and its culture. We pay particular attention to the active participation of students in the workshops, which we build in partnership and in consultation with the management and the teachers involved in the project.

We operate throughout France and more specifically in the Centre-Val de Loire region.

MEDIEVAL HAPPI HOURE
All audience

Convivial evening-meetings on themes from the Middle Ages, traditionally followed by sharing a friendship glass !

Examples of topics covered in the past:

  • The Magi in the Middle Ages

  • The Plantagenêt

  • The jugglers

  • The pilgrimage in the Middle Ages

  • Sounds, signs, colors of the Middle Ages: introduction to medieval music

COURSES and MASTERCLASSES

Diabolus in Musica offers medieval singing courses (Gregorian repertoire or minstrelsy) to be adapted according to your expectations, everywhere in France.A restitution concert in the company of the musicians of the ensemble can be envisaged to bring this music to life in front of an audience.

The Vermeil Booklet of Montserrat, a manuscript from the end of the Middle Ages (14th century) is an example of what it is possible to work on. The 10 pieces will make you discover a new universe: the role of the voices, the function of the songs, their form (ballad, virelai, song), the notation of the facsimile, the instrumental accompaniment of the fiddles, hurdy-gurdy, bagpipes, harp and other percussion...

Diabolus in Musica also offers masterclasses.

image_67185665.JPG

RESOURCES

How can we sing music that is 500, 800, 1000 years old today?

What approach should be taken, guided by what criteria?

It's a whole series of questions that arise as soon as we try to restore these monodies and polyphonies, as for all very old music.

Throughout these pages, you will find, for each repertoire covered by the ensemble, significant examples of rewritten or transcribed pieces, their manuscript source and comments that shed light on our work.

ms FOR COLD.JPEG

IMAPI PROJECT
Musical Interpretation in Immersive Heritage Acoustics

This project aims to recreate the acoustics of a heritage site: the pontifical chapel of the Popes' Palace in Avignon, but also the re-interpretation of a medieval polyphonic musical corpus from the 14th century in a historically virtual acoustic context. informed.

Since 2020, IMAPI has made it possible to open collaborations between PRISM and the LAM laboratory (Institut Jean le Rond d'Alembert), the MMSH (Call for external projects), the Diabolus in Musica ensemble and Avignon Tourisme-Mairie D'Avignon .

The IMAPI project is led by Julien Ferrando, Lecturer in Ancient Music and New Technologies, PRISM and Aix-Marseille University.

bottom of page

NOS ACTIVITÉS

PÉDAGOGIQUES

IMG_2294
IMG_2294

press to zoom
APPEL à projets
APPEL à projets

press to zoom
20180117_095526
20180117_095526

Describe your image

press to zoom
IMG_2294
IMG_2294

press to zoom
1/8

ACTIONS CULTURELLES

à destination des collèges et lycées

À travers des interventions pédagogiques et des ateliers menés par les spécialistes de leur domaine, nous proposons aux élèves de plonger au cœur du Moyen Âge, de sa musique et de sa culture. Nous attachons une attention particulière à la participation active des élèves aux ateliers, que nous construisons en partenariat et en concertation avec la direction et les professeurs impliqués dans le projet.

Nous intervenons dans la France entière et plus spécifiquement en Région Centre-Val de Loire.

MEDIEVAL HAPPI HOURE

Des soirées-rencontres conviviales sur des thèmes du Moyen Âge suivies traditionnellement d'un verre de l'amitié !

Exemples de thématiques abordées par le passé :

  • Les Rois Mages au Moyen Âge

  • Les Plantagenêts

  • Les jongleurs

  • Le pèlerinage au Moyen Âge

  • Sons, signes, couleurs du Moyen Âge: introduction aux musiques médiévales

20220930_192854
20220930_192854

press to zoom
Diabolus au Château du Plessis-25
Diabolus au Château du Plessis-25

press to zoom
Diabolus au Château du Plessis-35
Diabolus au Château du Plessis-35

press to zoom
20220930_192854
20220930_192854

press to zoom
1/6

STAGES et MASTERCLASS

Diabolus in Musica propose des stages de chant médiéval (répertoire grégorien ou de trouvères) à adapter en fonction de vos attentes, partout en France. Un concert de restitution en compagnie des musiciens de l'ensemble, peut être envisagé pour faire revivre ces musiques devant un auditoire.

le Livret Vermeil de Montserrat, manuscrit de la fin du Moyen-Âge (XIVe siècle) est un exemple de ce qu'il est possible de travailler. Les 10 pièces vous feront découvrir un univers nouveau : le rôle des voix, la fonction des chants, leur forme (ballade, virelai, chanson), la notation du fac-similé, l’accompagnement instrumental des vièles, vielle à roue, cornemuses, harpe et autres percussions...

Diabolus in Musica propose également des masterclass.

image_67185665.JPG

RESSOURCES

Comment aujourd'hui chanter des musiques vieilles de 500, 800, 1000 ans ?

Quelle démarche entreprendre, guidée par quels critères ?

C'est toute une série de questionnements qui surgissent dès qu'on s'attache à restituer ces monodies et polyphonies, comme pour toute musique très ancienne.

Vous trouverez au fil de ces pages, pour chaque répertoire abordé par l'ensemble, des exemples significatifs de pièces réécrites ou transcrites, leur source manuscrite et les commentaires éclairant notre travail.

ms POUR FROIDURE.JPEG
8
8

press to zoom
16
16

press to zoom
6
6

press to zoom
8
8

press to zoom
1/5

PROJET IMAPI
Interprétation Musicale en Acoustique Patrimoniale Immersive

Ce projet a pour enjeu la recréation de l’acoustique d’un lieu patrimonial : la chapelle pontificale du Palais des papes d’Avignon, mais aussi la ré-interprétation d’un corpus musical polyphonique médiéval du XIVe siècle dans un contexte acoustique virtuel historiquement informé.

Depuis 2020, IMAPI a permis d’ouvrir des collaborations entre PRISM et la laboratoire LAM (Institut Jean le Rond d’Alembert), la MMSH (Appel à projet externe), l’ensemble Diabolus in Musica et Avignon Tourisme-Mairie D’Avignon.

Le projet IMAPI est porté par Julien Ferrando, Maître de Conférence en Musiques anciennes et nouvelles technologies, PRISM et Aix-Marseille Université.